Skip to content

Delightful Databases – Vol I

October 21, 2012

Click on a name to visit a database:

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna Dowling permalink
    October 23, 2012 4:18 pm

    I really enjoyed this Roisin. Thanks for making my day a bit more interesting, browsing the movie title stills collection!

    • October 24, 2012 8:49 am

      There are some real database gems out there.

      I think 1952’s “I Lov the Gov” ad is probably my favourite find in all of the above databases. If only current presidential campaigns used such catchy jingles.

  2. October 24, 2012 7:50 am

    What a great idea, handwriting as a link. I hope to plagiarize it shamelessly. I have had an Intuos graphics pad for a while now, but it got little use as I was not doing as much fiddling in Photoshop as I had thought. You might be leaving yourself open to a bit of amateur psychoanalysis by using your own handwriting, though! But then maybe it is not your handwriting, at all. How can we trust anyone, or anything. The links are an excellent resource too. Maybe you could be the database mole for the course, finding interesting databases and posting them. Given that you have called this Vol. 1 I imagine you intend to do something along those lines.

    • October 24, 2012 8:19 am

      I will purchase an Intuos graphics tablet some day. It’s on my list, which also includes a Mig 25 (although, I think, now a bit outdated) edge of space flight.

      There will definitely be a Vol II on the way. There are also a couple of other interests I would like to address in my blog during the year. In the meantime, I will continue adding words to my DH glossary, as per Lynn’s blog post.

  3. October 28, 2012 6:09 pm

    Some really interesting bases and very diverse. I’d be facinated to know what you were looking for to come up with that collection! Love the movie and philosophy ones most. Cheers. Dan

Leave a Reply

